One week since launch; a retrospective

Well, that was the week that was!

We must start by thanking all of the people that have joined our Calgoo community. The problem with planning for an event like this is that you never know how many visitors to expect and when they will arrive. The good news for us is that our estimates were exceeded – the challenge was the unacceptable slow speed experienced by some Day One downloaders. For that we apologize.

The greatest gift we have received from the vast amount of publicity and chat about Calgoo is feedback from users and potential users. Whether you commented via our blog, chatted on Digg or blogged about us, we appreciate your input and we are compiling the results so that we can target our resources on the areas that are most important to you. Our tech team are beavering away (Canadian humour, eh?) or a number of suggestions and we will give you an update on this next week.

For interests sake here are a few quick facts about the past week:

17 – Number of Google matches on the phrase Calgoo on 21 Aug

230,000 – Number of Google matches on the phrase Calgoo on 28 Aug

117 – Number of blog matches on Technorati on 28 August

175 – Number of Google blog search matches on 28 August

And my personal favourite:

88 – Number of countries where there has been a Calgoo download as of 28 August.

For those of you that would like to read some third party reviews, a couple of the most thoughtful were by Download Squad and CNet (in fact CNet even posted a correction, which was good of them).

2 Responses to One week since launch; a retrospective

  1. Jason says:

    Wow, I’m very impressed that you linked to my post at DownloadSquad. I had a hard time with it, because I love the idea of what you’re doing, and really want to see it do well. It sounds like you took my comments as constructive criticism, and I’m thankful for that. I’ll definitely keep a look out for updates!

  2. brian says:

    I don’t really need this on my desktop but I would love it on my mobile. Please take what you know about the GCal platform and develop an app that will sync a calendar on my Nokia N73 with my Google Calendar and I will pay for it.

Leave a Reply

